Knowledge base Theory tests 9 min read

Basic, Final, and Riding Theory Tests

What Traffic Police’s official handbooks state about BTT, FTT, and RTT: test coverage and order, pass validity, and the practical driving test’s circuit and road stages.

BTT FTT RTT theory-test Traffic Police

Primary source: https://www.police.gov.sg/Knowledge-Hub/Traffic/Traffic-Matters/Online-Learning-Portal

An applicant for a new class of licence must pass the test of competence to drive, which includes the theory and/or practical driving or riding tests (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

Traffic Police’s Online Learning Portal supports test preparation and continuous learning. It includes educational videos about common causes of road traffic accidents, Basic, Final, and Riding theory handbooks, and practice questions. The handbooks and practice questions are available in English, Mandarin, Malay, and Tamil; SPF says practice questions are free and do not require Singpass login (SPF, Online Learning Portal). The current practice e-service provides BTT, FTT, and RTT question sets in English, Malay, Mandarin, and Tamil, and gives an estimated completion time of 20 minutes per set (SPF, Attempt Driving or Riding Theory Test Practice).

This article records what those official pages and the current English Basic Theory handbook (last updated 2 January 2026) state. It does not state a question count, a time limit, or a pass mark: those numbers do not appear in the handbook text fetched for this article. An SPF announcement about the former Online Mock Theory Test said its mock mode mirrored an actual-test format of 50 questions in 50 minutes. The same announcement says the mock platform was replaced on 27 March 2025 by the current practice service, so the 50-question/50-minute figure is historical mock-test information and is not stated here as a current examination requirement (SPF, Online Mock Theory Test).

Traffic Police test fees

Traffic Police announced that, for tests booked from 13 March 2026, the BTT, FTT, and RTT fee is $7.20, and the Practical Driving Test, Practical Riding Test, and Proficiency Driving Test fee is $40. The same announcement schedules increases to $8 and $45 respectively from 13 March 2027, and to $50 for all three practical tests from 13 March 2028 (SPF, Revised Test Fees and Mandatory Road Assessment). The changes apply to tests booked on or after each effective date. These are Traffic Police test fees, not driving-centre lesson, vehicle-rental, or administrative charges.

Basic Theory Test (BTT)

The BTT is designed to test knowledge of the traffic rules, traffic regulations, traffic signs and signals, and general road safety. The testing curriculum is broadly covered in The Official Handbook — Basic Theory of Driving. The handbook is divided into Part A, which covers basic theory and regulations, and Part B, whose signs and signals are marked as BTT test material (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving). All learner drivers and riders must obtain a pass for BTT before they can proceed to the advanced theory test — the Final Theory Test (FTT) or the Riding Theory Test (RTT) (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

The handbook’s contents page marks Part B as the material “to be tested during Basic Theory Test” (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

Final Theory Test (FTT)

After passing the BTT, a person who wants a motorcar driving licence (Class 3 or 3A) must pass the FTT before taking the Practical Driving Test. The FTT aims to test knowledge of driving safety aspects and proper techniques of driving, and interaction with other road users on the roads. After passing the FTT, the candidate is required to pass the Practical Driving Test within two years, failing which the FTT must be retaken and passed before another Practical Driving Test can be applied for. The testing curriculum is broadly covered in The Official Handbook — Final Theory of Driving (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

Riding Theory Test (RTT)

After passing the BTT, a person who wants a motorcycle driving licence (Class 2B) must pass the RTT before taking the Practical Riding Test. The RTT aims to test knowledge of riding safety aspects and proper techniques of riding, and interaction with other road users on the roads. After passing the RTT, the candidate is required to pass the Practical Riding Test within one year, failing which the RTT must be retaken and passed before another Practical Riding Test can be applied for (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

Practical test

The Practical Driving / Riding Test is conducted by a Driving Examiner appointed by the Traffic Police. The candidate must provide a motor vehicle which is suitable for the test, in good mechanical condition, and properly insured against third-party risks (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving).

SPF’s Final Theory of Driving handbook describes the practical driving test in two stages: a circuit test of driving skills, followed by an on-road test of safe interaction with other road users and compliance with traffic rules. Its circuit-layout illustration labels a crank-shaped course, an S-shaped course, a directional-change lot, and parallel and perpendicular parking lots. These are the labels shown in the handbook illustration; it does not identify a particular driving centre or say that every centre uses an identical layout (SPF, Final Theory of Driving handbook, paras. 291–292 and “Layout of a Driving Circuit”).

Traffic Police’s current Riding Theory handbook explains the practical riding assessment framework: a serious mistake causes immediate failure; less serious mistakes receive penalty points ranging from 2 to 10 each; and exceeding the predetermined total causes failure (SPF, Riding Theory handbook). The handbook does not publish the predetermined total, and this article does not infer a driving-test threshold from it.

The same handbook describes six motorcycle circuit courses or exercises and gives their objectives: safely negotiate the S Course in less than 11 seconds; safely negotiate the Crank Course in less than 6 seconds; complete the Pylon Slalom without hitting pylons in less than 6 seconds; ride across the Narrow Plank for 6 seconds or more; move off from a slope without rolling backwards or stalling; and stop within 11 metres at 30 km/h on a wet surface in the Emergency Brake Course (SPF, Riding Theory handbook, paras. 271–282). These are the objectives described in the handbook; it does not say that every course is used at every test centre or that meeting a course objective by itself determines the practical-test result.

Booking eligibility

To book and take a theory or practical driving or riding test, an applicant must fulfil these requirements at the date of booking or of taking the test (SPF, Basic Theory of Driving):

  • has not accumulated more than 12 demerit points;
  • is not under suspension or Court disqualification, and is not within the period of one year from the date of revocation of the driving licence;
  • is not under police investigation; and
  • has not committed 2 or more offences of failing to display a distinguishing mark (Probation Plate) during the period of probation as a new driver for another new class of driving licence.

Waiting times and passing rates

Traffic Police publishes monthly waiting times by driving centre for BTT, FTT, RTT, and practical tests. It also publishes first-time and retest passing rates; the current theory-test tables cover August 2025 to July 2026, while the waiting-time table shows May to July 2026. SPF says passing rates are based on data accumulated over the preceding 12 months. These figures change as the tables are updated, so consult the live page for current values (SPF, Waiting Time and Passing Rates of Theory and Practical Tests).

Practice, not the live exam

SPF’s Online Learning Portal links to the free practice service for BTT, FTT, and RTT. The current portal states the handbooks and practice questions are available in English, Mandarin, Malay, and Tamil and that practice access does not require Singpass login. The practice e-service estimates 20 minutes per set and says the service is available 24/7; these describe practice, not the live exam (SPF, Online Learning Portal; SPF, Attempt Driving or Riding Theory Test Practice).

Coverage debt

  • Live BTT, FTT, and RTT question count, examination duration, and pass mark are not stated in the official materials reviewed for this article. Driving-centre marketing pages are not used as authority for those numbers.
  • The 50-question / 50-minute format appears in SPF’s announcement about the retired mock-test platform. Current official materials reviewed here do not state the actual BTT, FTT, or RTT question count, live-exam duration, or pass mark.
  • The Final Theory handbook shows a circuit-layout illustration but does not identify it as the current layout of any named driving centre or confirm that the centres use identical layouts.

Sources